llamaenterhear

Author Topic: Grad Project Hook - Original enough for submission?  (Read 1500 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline Robotguy

• Nomad
  • Beep Beep Boop
    • Awards
Grad Project Hook - Original enough for submission?
« on: February 03, 2015, 04:17:59 PM »
A couple of months ago I was attempting to put together an on-line campaign for players who were new to RPG, and I was looking for the hook to get everyone started. My research indicated several things to take into consideration:
  • The 'meet in a tavern' idea was overdone to the point of death
  • Campaigns usually run better, especially for new players, if a party is decently balanced
  • Characters need a reason to work together toward a common goal
  • Low level characters wouldn't have a lot of experience to draw from

I am an engineer by trade, and while it tends to limit my creativity a bit, it does come in mighty handy when troubleshooting and problem solving, so I set about searching for a hook that met these requirements and came up with the following concept:

Break the silence, douse the flame, snuff the dragon’s beacon,
Break the circle, call the name, veil and curtain weaken.
Widdershins ‘round the empty tomb, past the age-old keepers,
Legions of the dark exhume, wake the long dead sleepers.
Break the ancient binding rite, block the turn of season,
Suspend the world in endless night, shape the dark god’s treason