llamaenterhear
Username: Password:

Author Topic: Is it possible to change fonts?  (Read 1933 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline Gossamer

  • Procrastinator Extraordinaire
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • *
  • Posts: 724
  • Status Quo is the DEVIL
  • Awards Hall of Heroes 2013 Newbie of the Year 2013 Best Play By Post Player
    • Awards
Is it possible to change fonts?
« on: June 04, 2013, 07:42:58 AM »
I'm guessing someone must have asked this question before, but I couldn't find any other thread. Is it possible? Could it be arranged with permission maybe?
Samotny Osovjaltek - Dwarven Guild – Level 1
STR: 3 | END: 3 | CON: 3 | DEX: 5 | CHA: 2 | INT: 4

Offline Strolen

  • Ignorance Incarnate
  • Guild Leader
  • Emperor
  • *
  • Posts: 7990
  • All your base are belong to us.
  • Awards Locations Guild Questor Locations Guild Elite Item Guild Plot Guild Hall of Heroes 10
    • Strolen's Citadel
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 12:22:19 PM »
Not really.

I can only assume you want serif fonts instead?

I have gone back and forth but serif is generally harder to read online. (It is supposed to be better for print though.) With high resolutions it is not such and issue but when you get on smaller screens the serif's can get difficult. So going to stick with what we have.

"Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;

Flying Squirrel – Strolenati Guild
Grothar Rockfury - Dwarvish Guild
Minor Minion - Cartographer's Guild
Level 3
STR: 5 | END: 2 | CON: 3 | DEX: 2 | CHA: 2 | INT: 6
Authentic Strolenite™©® | Llama is as Llama does.


Offline Gossamer

  • Procrastinator Extraordinaire
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • *
  • Posts: 724
  • Status Quo is the DEVIL
  • Awards Hall of Heroes 2013 Newbie of the Year 2013 Best Play By Post Player
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 12:31:48 PM »
Uh, I don't know anything about the whole sans serif, serif stuff... But when I typed up a sub on my Open Office document, I used Papyrus for a piece. And it just looks way better than the normal stuff, for this particular piece, because I mixed in some capital letters in the text to make a secret code. Without it, it just looks messy.

But it's not possible? ...Mkay... :/ Might have to rethink that piece then.
Samotny Osovjaltek - Dwarven Guild – Level 1
STR: 3 | END: 3 | CON: 3 | DEX: 5 | CHA: 2 | INT: 4

Offline Dossta

  • Anti-Entropy Specialist
  • Squirrel Strolenati
  • Master
  • *
  • Posts: 481
  • Awards 2013 Society of the Year Item Guild 2012 Dungeon of the Year Elite Questor Hall of Heroes 10 Master Questor
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2013, 12:38:19 PM »
Not trying to diss the idea, but I'm actually glad that the Citadel uses a standardized font for all its content.  Ideas should be able to stand on their own, without a lot of distracting embellishment.  The only exception to this might be adding *one* "handwriting" font to use in letter snippets and the like.

Journeyman Strolenati – Strolenati Guild
Tale Spinner - Weavers Guild
Level 3
STR: 4 | END: 4 | CON: 3 | DEX: 6 | CHA: 3 | INT: 5
"The omniscient have no need for beliefs and no room for delusion."

Offline Strolen

  • Ignorance Incarnate
  • Guild Leader
  • Emperor
  • *
  • Posts: 7990
  • All your base are belong to us.
  • Awards Locations Guild Questor Locations Guild Elite Item Guild Plot Guild Hall of Heroes 10
    • Strolen's Citadel
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2013, 12:47:36 PM »
Now that I understand what you mean, that idea wouldn't work anyway unless it was a graphic. The reason you use a series of fonts like I listed is because the computer you are browsing on has to have the font installed locally. So you can only use universally available fonts on any webpage. So windows, mac and linux (not to mention all the tablets) have to have that font loaded for it to work. If you did it, you might still be the only person to see it how you intend.

The exception (again) is the title and author names. Those I actually load on purpose through the code so that everybody has them. Not sure forcing the extra download is totally worth it, but I like it.

Flying Squirrel – Strolenati Guild
Grothar Rockfury - Dwarvish Guild
Minor Minion - Cartographer's Guild
Level 3
STR: 5 | END: 2 | CON: 3 | DEX: 2 | CHA: 2 | INT: 6
Authentic Strolenite™©® | Llama is as Llama does.


Offline Gossamer

  • Procrastinator Extraordinaire
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • *
  • Posts: 724
  • Status Quo is the DEVIL
  • Awards Hall of Heroes 2013 Newbie of the Year 2013 Best Play By Post Player
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2013, 01:02:29 PM »
Ideas should be able to stand on their own, without a lot of distracting embellishment.


I wrote the piece down in another post, http://strolen.com/guild/index.php/topic,6314.msg77121.html#msg77121
You can see what I mean when I say it looks messy that way. But I still think there's nothing wrong with the idea of hiding a coded message in a text.

The reason you use a series of fonts like I listed is because the computer you are browsing on has to have the font installed locally. So you can only use universally available fonts on any webpage. So windows, mac and linux (not to mention all the tablets) have to have that font loaded for it to work. If you did it, you might still be the only person to see it how you intend.


See, this is all the technical stuff us poor mortals have no idea about. :P But I figured it was something like that.
Samotny Osovjaltek - Dwarven Guild – Level 1
STR: 3 | END: 3 | CON: 3 | DEX: 5 | CHA: 2 | INT: 4

Online valadaar

  • Lord Ascendant of Typos
  • Emperor
  • ****
  • Posts: 3135
  • Awards Lifeforms Guild Elite Hall of Heroes 10 Elite NPC Guild Master Questor Golden Creator Locations Guild Elite
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2013, 01:18:09 PM »
Simple solution is to use an image.  Use whatever tool you want to create the text (google docs) , then screenshot, crop, save, upload and link.

If you want to get slightly fancier, use GIMP (or photoshop if you are rich or piratical), remove the background so its transparent and safe as .jpg.

That way you don't need to worry about fonts at all, apart from having them on your PC to do the original text. 
   
         Human Strolenati
         Strolenati Guild
         DwarvenGuild - Dorak Stonehammer
         Weavers Guild
         Level 3
         STR: 4| END: 4| CON: 4| DEX: 4 | CHA: 3 | INT: 7
         Authentic Strolenite™©®
      
   
            
         
                
         

Offline Gossamer

  • Procrastinator Extraordinaire
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • *
  • Posts: 724
  • Status Quo is the DEVIL
  • Awards Hall of Heroes 2013 Newbie of the Year 2013 Best Play By Post Player
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2013, 01:31:24 PM »
Simple solution is to use an image.  Use whatever tool you want to create the text (google docs) , then screenshot, crop, save, upload and link.

If you want to get slightly fancier, use GIMP (or photoshop if you are rich or piratical), remove the background so its transparent and safe as .jpg.

That way you don't need to worry about fonts at all, apart from having them on your PC to do the original text.

Not a bad idea as long I'm allowed to. I'm pretty sure Paint.Net has that feature as well. If I can figure it out. Can you upload images directly to the site or do I need to link them? I don't normally use any image uploading sites.
Samotny Osovjaltek - Dwarven Guild – Level 1
STR: 3 | END: 3 | CON: 3 | DEX: 5 | CHA: 2 | INT: 4

Online valadaar

  • Lord Ascendant of Typos
  • Emperor
  • ****
  • Posts: 3135
  • Awards Lifeforms Guild Elite Hall of Heroes 10 Elite NPC Guild Master Questor Golden Creator Locations Guild Elite
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2013, 01:40:23 PM »
Directly. Just save it somewhere easy to find, click the image button and browse to it.

You can even tune it a _little_ in the raw html (size, placement) if you are of a mind to.

   
         Human Strolenati
         Strolenati Guild
         DwarvenGuild - Dorak Stonehammer
         Weavers Guild
         Level 3
         STR: 4| END: 4| CON: 4| DEX: 4 | CHA: 3 | INT: 7
         Authentic Strolenite™©®
      
   
            
         
                
         

Offline Gossamer

  • Procrastinator Extraordinaire
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • *
  • Posts: 724
  • Status Quo is the DEVIL
  • Awards Hall of Heroes 2013 Newbie of the Year 2013 Best Play By Post Player
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change fonts?
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2013, 02:31:21 PM »
Directly. Just save it somewhere easy to find, click the image button and browse to it.

You can even tune it a _little_ in the raw html (size, placement) if you are of a mind to.

Okay, thanks Val. :)
Samotny Osovjaltek - Dwarven Guild – Level 1
STR: 3 | END: 3 | CON: 3 | DEX: 5 | CHA: 2 | INT: 4