llamaenterhear
Username: Password:

Author Topic: Miniatures!  (Read 1018 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline Dozus

• the Windward
  • Strolenati
  • Emperor
  • Cephalopod
  • Awards 2012 Society of the Year Elite Item Guild Golden Creator Hall of Heroes 10 2010 Society of the Year Questor
    • Awards
Miniatures!
« on: May 03, 2007, 07:10:12 PM »
Anyone use many miniatures in their gaming?

I'm packing up my stuff to move and have come across a few minis my friend and I used to paint in high school.  Most of them were D&D minis, but now it seems all Wizards sells are pre-painted plastic Chainmail minis (anything pre-painted disgusts me).  We had a fn time painting them (we worked as a team since I was a poor artist: I mixed the colors and decided color schemes, he did the painting).  I'm wondering if I shouldn't start the ol' modelling hobby again.

For you experienced mini folks out there, where can I get decent metal figures for a decent price?  What kinds of paints work best?  What are some of the more interesting collections out there?
Dozus the Windward
Swashbuckler
LEVEL 2
Cartography Guild Minor Minion
Acolyte of the Divine Synod, Merchant of Divine Wealth
STR: 4 | END: 2 | CON: 4 | DEX: 3 | CHA: 3 | INT: 4

Offline Wulfhere

• Intimidator of Insolent Upstarts
  • Strolenati
  • Grand Master
  • Awards Locations Guild Lifeforms Guild Item Guild Golden Creator Hall of Heroes 10 Elite NPC Guild
    • Awards
Re: Miniatures!
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 07:59:52 PM »
There are plenty of good companies out there, but I've found myself painting Reaper minis a lot lately.
http://www.reapermini.com/

I like a lot of the miniatures offered by Games Workshop, but their hardball business practices and high prices turn me off.  They are infamous for the way that they have mistreated those who do business with them and their monopolistic schemes in England would have gotten them sued in the US.