llamaenterhear
Username: Password:

Author Topic: Spell Components  (Read 3316 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline Anteaus

• Journeyman
    • Awards
Spell Components
« on: March 16, 2005, 08:02:45 PM »
This is my first thread and one that I hope will work out well.

What kind of ideas do you folks have for spell components?  I am thinking about useing something like the Thrar Stones which "grow" up inside a tree.

I am also very new at this game and am wondering how to interpet things like "cooled in a lover's sigh."  Any thoughts along those lines or any other spell components would be great.

P.S. I use AD&D 2nd edition

Thanks
"Power corrupts. Absolute power is kind of neat." --John Lehman (1942 - ), Secretary of the Navy, 1981-1987

Offline CaptainPenguin

• Bastardo!
  • Squirrel Strolenati
  • Emperor
  • Awards Questor Hall of Heroes 10
    • Awards
Spell Components
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 08:21:08 PM »
What?!
Err.. Well, spell components could probably be anything. What's a Thrar stone?

"Cooled in a lover's sigh" would seem to imply that the object needs to be... well... cooled by the sigh of a lover. How else would you interpret that?
Please note that on this site, spell components tend to run towards the weird, particularly with me-
I frequently use glass panes, hammers, captured fear (and other emotions)... I recall once featuring a stew made from lion's muscles stretched so thin that they became liquid.

Anyway... We don't care if you use AD&D, we don't really take system into account, most of the time. So if you're looking for stats, you'll have to make 'em up yourself.
Currently Reading: "Kafka On The Shore" by Haruki Murakami

Currently Listening To: "Piece Of Time" by Atheist

Offline Anteaus

• Journeyman
    • Awards
Spell Components
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 08:50:43 PM »
Thrar Stones are from the Items on this site were something grew up inside of a special tree and became a gem.