llamaenterhear

Author Topic: another Newbie with 100 questions  (Read 1888 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline TaInT

• Nomad
    • Awards
another Newbie with 100 questions
« on: March 03, 2005, 03:22:33 PM »
im new to this, it looks cool, iv read some of the new guy threads but didnt quite get it, i understand its not a game 'n stuff, but could someone explain more please... thanks :D

Offline Ancient Gamer

• Hammer of the Citadel
  • Strolenati
  • Emperor
  • Enough about you, let's talk about me!
  • Awards 2013 Best Play By Post Game Hall of Heroes 10 Elite Item Guild Elite Plot Guild Elite Systems Guild Plot Guild
    • Coldforged Home
    • Awards
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 03:56:32 PM »
You have just entered "Strolen's Citadel".

This is a resource site for those of us who have the awesome hobby called roleplaying.

This hobby usually takes place at weekends, when a small gathering of people come to one of the players residence to partake of a evening of fun and imaginary adventures. The players and their "guide/storyteller" (often called GM/Gamemaster or DM/Dungeonmaster) collaborate to create a story, where the GM has all the background information and the players play different roles.

In the beginning this differs little (well, more than a little, but not that much) from boardgames like RISK or Monopoly, as the players view their characters as little else than bricks in a game, but after a while the game may take on theatrical dimensions (the players dedicate themselves to actually playing a role as opposed to living out their "munchkin" wet dreams and the GM try to create ever more amazing and cinematic game worlds) .

So if you are interested in the latter, this is definitely the site for you. Munchkinism (bad roleplaying focusing on "powergaming" (Diablo style levelling and magic item focus) is generally frowned upon here).