llamaenterhear
Username: Password:

Author Topic: Visitor from the Wastelands  (Read 3088 times)

0 Members and 1 Lonely Barbarian are spying on this topic.

Offline Scrasamax

• The Rogue Scholar
  • Emperor
  • 20% Cooler
  • Awards 2013 Most Submissions 2012 Most Quest Submissions Elite Systems Guild Gold Creator 10 Elite Questor Hall of Heroes 10
    • Scras' Blog
    • Awards
Visitor from the Wastelands
« on: July 17, 2004, 03:52:00 PM »
A Scrasamax is a pre-renaissance Swiss two-handed sword similar to a claymore, flamberge, or zweihander. That cleared up, I have been RPing since 1997, when a friend introduced me to a poorly hammered out game of Dungeons and Dragons. We only had the PHB, and a battered Dungeon Master's Screen and a handful of dice, some with teeth marks in them.

We would play for hours on end, staying up into the wee hours of the night, laughing, cutting up, and playing out our adventures. It was not long before my extensive reading background, and morbidly active imagination vaulted me to the seat behind the screen. We expanded from AD&D and added Vampire to our game list, along with Battletech. Ah, hands in the airs, voices exaspiratingly crying out 'Garrison duty again?' and despite protests, they threw themselves into the game, fighting each other as well as invaders, and angry locals.

I ran an afternoon game where all of the players, rich with gold all but looted a city of it's jewelry and fine dresses. I was lucky to have not just girls in my troop, but all girls in that particular troop. To be honest, females have been a larger percentage of my gamers than boys, but I think it has lead me to create more rounded characters and adventures, branching away from the hack'n'slash point and shoot.